My Best Idea Yet

Summer vacation has started at my house which means my kids are already uttering my very favorite sentences – “I’m bored.” and “I’m hungry.”  They are not big fans of my answer to the first complaint (which is usually to give them a chore) but I think I have come up with a solution to the second that can make all of us reasonably happy.  And it is truly the easiest thing I have ever done!

This morning around 10:00 I did this:

veggie tray

It took me about 3 minutes to slice up some red pepper (the baby carrots and snap peas were bagged and ready to go) and toss everything on a plate.  I set out some hummus and the tray in the middle of the kitchen table and collected my children.  I told them these healthy snacks were for them, I would leave it out all day and they were not UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES to ask me for a snack or tell me they were hungry.

And it’s working!  They dug in right away and have continued to grab a carrot or pepper as they walk past.  Nobody asked me, “When do we get lunch?” and I haven’t had to explain for the billionth time why candy is NOT a snack.  I even snuck a few extra veggies into my diet today.

How do you other moms handle the “snack” trap?

One thought on “My Best Idea Yet

Leave a Reply

